08
Feb
09

Cool water

Themes.
I’ve written before that when I pay attention there are certain themes that reoccur.
Yesterday’s post by Pema Chodron spoke of the rain as just allowing, a gentleness and softening of the hard earth.
While this concept embraces many things – one is a sense of self compassion and releasing. Not so much of trying, but of allowing. And for me this is such an important lesson – my background (especially my German post-modern upbringing) places a great emphasis on “trying and doing”, so these reminders are valuable to my being.

Today I came across on ad in the mail for Shambhala Sun in which Thich Nhat Hanh speaks on mindfulness and also uses the analogy of water, not struggling and no effort. It also reminds me of one of my favorite songs – U2’s “One”
Enjoy,
John

I have often been asked, “How does mindfulness bring happiness?”

Our Emotions and Perceptions are like seeds in the garden of our minds – and mindfulness is like cool water. When we water the seeds of joy in ourselves, they grow and flower without effort.  This is one of the simplest and most wonderful of miracles.

When you nourish yourself and others in this way, you see that all things – this piece of paper, the air you are breathing, you and I – are deeply interconnected.  This is the truth of interdependence.  No one can be one’s self alone.  We have to inter-be to be.


4 Responses to “Cool water”


  1. 1 Uku
    February 8, 2009 at 10:52 am

    “When you nourish yourself and others in this way, you see that all things – this piece of paper, the air you are breathing, you and I – are deeply interconnected. This is the truth of interdependence. No one can be one’s self alone. We have to inter-be to be.”

    Great one! Gassho!

  2. 2 johnherberger
    February 8, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Yes Uku, Thich Nhat Hanh has never steered me wrong. He even thought me how to eat a tangerine 😉

  3. February 12, 2009 at 3:01 am

    Really lovely post, John. I love the water analogy of allowing. It feels, well, spacious and soft and cool.

  4. 4 johnherberger
    February 12, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Ahh, soft and cool. I love it, Molly. My favorite line in this post is “no effort”. I love floating in water with no effort, or standing under the shower with “no effort”. 2 very spacious, soft and cool activities that mirror the meaning of this post in a water activity


Leave a comment


Live'n Aloha on Maui.
Lately just posting pics, artwork, vids, & music with just a headline (less seems to be more).
Into Wilber, Beck, Zen Stuffs, Spiritual Concepts, Philosophy and Humor (kinda geeky humor).
Currently attempting to strengthen my meditation skills (this has been a 20 yr process).
Thanks for stopp'n by and please leave a comment. Poz or Neg, all comments welcome.
"I don't like Spam" (said with a British accent)

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Pages