04
Apr
09

What Color is your Christ?

jesus2Is He more like Scorcese’s Last Temptation or Gibson’s Passion?  Would your Jesus drive an Army Tank or a Prius?  Would He be in support of the war in Iraq or marching in a Peace protest?

Bruce Sanguin, a progressive minister recently featured in EnlightenmentNext magazine, has written a book, The Emerging Church  in which he explores how the changing perceptions of  Christ help to illuminate the evolution of spirituality throughout human history. 

I am excited for the emergence of this book at a time when we seem to be collectively embracing the need for change in our Western American culture.  For many people burned out, or burned by, Christianity, this book may offer a healing and resolution. (And for me this fits in with my integral view and understanding of spiral dynamics and my world)

Here are just 4 perspectives in the development of our spirituality with regards to Christ, taken from the EnlightenmentNext article:

The Traditional Christ: “I am the one and only son of God.  If you give yourself to me and me alone, you shall be saved and granted eternal life.” (where seen: The Left Behind series, by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B Jenkins)

The Modern Christ: “I am an example of extraordinary human potential.  Those who strategically apply my teachings will achieve great success.” (where seen: The Purpose Driven Life, by Rick Warren)

The Postmodern Christ: “My teachings are one among many paths of Truth.  I am an example of universal Love, Compassion and Equality.” (where seen: Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time: The Historical Jesus and the Heart of Contemporary Faith , by Marcus Borg)

The Cosmic Christ: “I am the Spiritual impulse itself – an evolutionary intuition embedded within the sacred unfolding of the cosmos.” (where seen: The Phenomenon of Man , by Pierre Teilhard de Chardin)

Here is a link for an audio: http://www.enlightennext.org/magazine/unbound/media.asp?id=247
The book is available from Amazon

 

2 Responses to “What Color is your Christ?”


  1. April 4, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    I don’t beleive in the christians version of christ all though its a nice story of wich most were stolen from the pagans… Good and evil lives within us so I dont beleive in Satan (Pan)either; and I do beleive we are apart of a higher power “God” and we are living in our organic shells to survive on this planet and our souls are the energy that propel our thoughts and emotions. There is sooo much space left uncovered and so little time here on earth. Death to me means change and then new life so I dont fear it. My only fear is fear itself and I also avoid that one cause where you have fear you are allowing yourself to be controlled. Religions are just cults people that were formed to control the masses by infusing fear in them about Heaven and Hell. Its all in our heads…. I only beleive in eternity and creation and thats what makes us all perfect is our ability to progress and create. True evil is the consumption of all this without giving back or contributing…If I had to choose a religion that makes the most sense to me after soul searching it would be Hinduism; but I dont subscribe to any one theory completely and you will find there are alot of paralells in each religion so basically its all the same thing just different focuses and rituals that are defined mostly by the culture of the people involved. Just steer clear of the radical half of whatever religion you choose and the world will be less torn in the name of any God. AllMen!!!

  2. 2 Benjamin Steele
    August 20, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I used to read that magazine, but haven’t looked at it in a while. I’ve seen others who’ve written about Christianity from a developmental perspective. It’d be great if such ideas became more popular. For various reasons, spiral dynamics and similar models have become almost entirely identified with New Age spirituality.


Leave a Reply

Live'n Aloha on Maui.
Lately just posting pics, artwork, vids, & music with just a headline (less seems to be more).
Into Wilber, Beck, Zen Stuffs, Spiritual Concepts, Philosophy and Humor (kinda geeky humor).
Currently attempting to strengthen my meditation skills (this has been a 20 yr process).
Thanks for stopp'n by and please leave a comment. Poz or Neg, all comments welcome.
"I don't like Spam" (said with a British accent)

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Pages


