01
Feb
09

Mindful Eye

When I am out with my camera I am 99.9% of the time in the moment.

The lens helps me to focus, be present and observe my surroundings .  What a great way to practice; I have so much to be thankful for.  Why do I forget that?  Oh yeah, cause I’m a damn human on the path to enlightenment – no more or less an asshole than the rest of the planet.

With my camera, I slow down, my breathing becomes more integrated, I begin to notice the subtleties and I feel more centered. I definitely feel more connected to my surroundings.

The trick is that I don’t go out to photograph anything in particular. I just go for a hike, a walk, a ride in the car, etc.  There is no preconceived idea of what needs to be done – there is just an openess to explore the world around me.  There is no particular subject matter that is assigned, just an observing mind.  No prejudgement regarding the subject, the lighting, the composition.  Just a willingness to pay attention and discover.

Here’s a few of today’s results:

Moss

Floral

Fountain

Fallen Tree

man and nature

Enlightenment

2 Responses to “Mindful Eye”


  1. February 1, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I never saw my camera as a tool for mindfulness, rather the other way around (be mindful to create better photos). Thanks for a enlightening post and great photos.

  2. 2 Sara
    February 2, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Incredible shots – love them!!


Leave a Reply

Live'n Aloha on Maui.
Lately just posting pics, artwork, vids, & music with just a headline (less seems to be more).
Into Wilber, Beck, Zen Stuffs, Spiritual Concepts, Philosophy and Humor (kinda geeky humor).
Currently attempting to strengthen my meditation skills (this has been a 20 yr process).
Thanks for stopp'n by and please leave a comment. Poz or Neg, all comments welcome.
"I don't like Spam" (said with a British accent)

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Pages


