14
Dec
08

Dirty Dawg

baddog

From, –Jack Kornfield,  A Path with Heart
(Jack basically says it all, no need for much comment, so throw me a bone – I’m a novice at sitting)

For some, [the] task of coming back a thousand or ten thousand times in meditation may seem boring or even of questionable importance. But how many times have we gone away from the reality of our life?–perhaps a million or ten million times! If we wish to awaken, we have to find our way back here with our full being, our full attention. . .

In this way, meditation is very much like training a puppy. You put the puppy down and say, “Stay.” Does the puppy listen? It gets up and runs away. You sit the puppy back down again. “Stay.” And the puppy runs away over and over again. Sometimes the puppy jumps up, runs over and pees in the corner, or makes some other mess. Our minds are much the same as the puppy, only they create even bigger messes. In training the mind, or the puppy, we have to start over and over again.

2 Responses to “Dirty Dawg”


  1. 1 Uku
    December 14, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Good post! Dogen Zenji used a term “continuous practice”. It’s all about practicing, day after day, regularly in daily life. Buddhism is practicing in daily life.

    Thank you.

    With palms together,
    Uku

  2. December 14, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    You know, this made me remember that recently I noticed that I am not bored anymore while I am sitting. Now, I would not say I love it or feel blissfully happy while sitting … it’s not THAT extreme! But I used to feel quite bored, and quite fed up with all that mind-wandering. The mind still wanders. Maybe not quite as often nor for quite as long a stretch. But the boredom is gone, I think. I can’t explain why. I know I used to feel very frustrated about how boring it was to sit. I know I felt very relieved when I found something a Roshi had written: “Of course you feel bored! This is normal!” (Whew! It’s not only me!) But perhaps this is a stage that each person reaches after some time. Sitting is still hard work. Reining in the wild horses or monkeys is still a struggle. But boredom … It’s not the big problem it used to be.


Leave a Reply

Live'n Aloha on Maui.
Lately just posting pics, artwork, vids, & music with just a headline (less seems to be more).
Into Wilber, Beck, Zen Stuffs, Spiritual Concepts, Philosophy and Humor (kinda geeky humor).
Currently attempting to strengthen my meditation skills (this has been a 20 yr process).
Thanks for stopp'n by and please leave a comment. Poz or Neg, all comments welcome.
"I don't like Spam" (said with a British accent)

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages


