08
Dec
08

With hands open and relaxed, befriending the moment

hand2
On November 8th and 18th I had posted an eloquent saying I came across:

“Open your hand and let the dead wood drop”

It is still a wonderful picture. It is a wonderful Practice .
Just opening my hand and letting go relaxes my body (my shoulders drop), I breathe and usually I smile.

It’s addictive – just observing my hand opening and closing.

It’s like open hands = an opening of my heart. There is a befriending of the moment.
(Probably because there is much I hold on to ;  I return to myself as I do this, this simple movement.  I practice it from time to time in my office at work.  It’s a great one minute meditation.  My yellow sticky note on my computer reminding me,  says “open your hand”)

In practicing  Qigong this morning, I was noticing my open hands.  Noticing how they follow the energy, how they don’t try. There is no try, just do.

Here are a few words that follow in this vein, written better than I could have:

The goal of vipassana practice is to cultivate the mindful, non-reactive observation of bodily and mental processes so as to develop an increasing awareness–an awareness undistorted by our usual desires, fears and views of the true nature of these processes, that they are impermanent, that they are without self and therefore involve no suffering on our part until we learn to let go.It is through mindful observation of what is actually there that the delusion that makes us perceive what is impermanent and transient as permanent and lasting is gradually dispelled. Liberation consists in experiencing and understanding fully and clearly that everything is impermanent and seeing that there is quite literally nothing to worry about.
–Amadeus Sole-Leris, Tranquility & Insight

 

Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it. Always work with it, not against it. Make it your friend and ally, not your enemy. This will miraculously transform your whole life.
–Eckhart Tolle , The Power of Now

1 Response to “With hands open and relaxed, befriending the moment”


  1. December 16, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Lovely post. Thanks for sharing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Live'n Aloha on Maui.
Lately just posting pics, artwork, vids, & music with just a headline (less seems to be more).
Into Wilber, Beck, Zen Stuffs, Spiritual Concepts, Philosophy and Humor (kinda geeky humor).
Currently attempting to strengthen my meditation skills (this has been a 20 yr process).
Thanks for stopp'n by and please leave a comment. Poz or Neg, all comments welcome.
"I don't like Spam" (said with a British accent)

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages


