02
Nov
08

Dead Wood

“This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness.”

~ H.H. The Dalai Lama

How beautiful and simple is that? The Philosophy of Kindness.
I came across this quote along with some writings on “Letting go”.  Now I get that I need to let go of things – I do way to much fucking accumulating with my head and sometimes with my heart too.  The economy as well as my present economical situation has made material accumulation a let less than it’s been in my past, and I’ve been letting go of complicated accumulations in my head more and more. 
Anyway, in this life-long letting go process there are moments of, “Oh shit – this makes TOTAL sense; I already new that – it’s just no one ever stated it like that”.
The above quote by the Dalai Lama is one of those, another one was an example of letting go and I do not have a citation (I searched for it but to no avail – think I read it in a David Richo book – if you know the Zen master who said this, leave me a comment) so I will paraphrase:

“Open your hand and let the dead wood drop”

I love that.  Again, it’s simple, not complicated – like the Dali Lama’s quote. It’s not about trying to take the shit in my life (or in my head) and throwing it out – forcing it away.  It’s more like taking a deep breath and letting it fall away. Not tossing the the piece of dead wood; not burning it; not breaking it up into little pieces. Just opening my hand and letting it drop.  The wood serves no purpose. Let it go.

I hope you have a day with open hands . . .

1 Response to “Dead Wood”


  1. November 2, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Very nice! Thanks for posting this. I recently read something else about letting go, and you have summed up the beauty of it — and the difference between letting go and working hard to drag something out the door. The image of open hands is wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Live'n Aloha on Maui.
Lately just posting pics, artwork, vids, & music with just a headline (less seems to be more).
Into Wilber, Beck, Zen Stuffs, Spiritual Concepts, Philosophy and Humor (kinda geeky humor).
Currently attempting to strengthen my meditation skills (this has been a 20 yr process).
Thanks for stopp'n by and please leave a comment. Poz or Neg, all comments welcome.
"I don't like Spam" (said with a British accent)

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Pages


